After spending more time discussing in my mind IF I should start writing a blog than it could ever take me to actually write one, here it is. I call it laces in places because I constantly think there should be more. Laces. In more. Places. During the last years,  more and more people have again taken interest in DIY and thus also  in old textile making and manipulating techniques (like knitting, embroidery, crochet, even lacemaking). The ornate and feminine fabrics resulting from such work have also found their way back into everyday fashion. What amazes me most is the fact that very talented designers – from Dolce & Gabbana to those who sell their knitting patterns at ravelry.com – have managed to make lace part of our lives again. Teaching us in the process that wearing lace, you need not look like you´re wearing your grandma´s tablecloth.

For example:

(I know. That woman is a genius AND photogenic. Sigh.)

Or those small masterpieces.  Well, you get the idea.

